The Future will Hold Butterflies

Future_Sign_Exit

Image provided by: googleimages


A lot of people have been asking me “what do you plan to do next year?” and “what school are you going to?” and I know they all ask with good intentions but even after only a year college I feel as though I’ve already been given new insight as to what I’d like my future to look like. In my Digital Story Telling class, we would constantly look into the evolution of the multiple platforms digital story tellers would use to express their tales. In this I realized that things are always, constantly changing with the world and the people around it. And that although there may be things planned out and created ahead of time, not everything will make it to success. I believe most people have also come to realize that life’s never as simple or as destined as going to school, getting married, buying a house, and dying. We all deserve to live the life that makes us truly happy, whatever it may be.

I recently watched a TSN interview with a 14-year-old boy who lives with a rare skin disease called Epidermolysis Bullosa (EB), where the flesh on the body is extremely vulnerable, almost like the wing of a butterfly, and the way he talks about living is by far the most inspiring thing. Though treating his skin is a process which can take up to 3-hours-long daily, and though eating and drinking leave blisters in his throat and make it nearly impossible for him to ingest anything, he continues to be quite the avid hockey fan, as well as a beacon of hope for others not just living with this illness but for people globally who find it hard to even just carry on living. His story really made me rethink the way I was living and hopefully it made others reevaluate the delicate nature of our lives and bodies, as well as the certainty of our futures. Most people who have EB do not see beyond the age of 30, but our boy continues to live in both realism and optimism, he figures it’s his life and he intends to live it as fully as he possibly can, a way of thinking that we all should be striving towards.

Leave a comment